Masters Awards

Applications for the 2015 Masters Awards are now closed.

The following Desired Applicant Profile was for the 2015 intake and is for information purposes only.

Angola: Desired Applicant Profile (DAP) – Masters Awards 2015

Priority fields

  • Agriculture/Food Security
  • Health
  • Natural Resource Management
  • Public Policy

Coordinating authority

  • National Institute of Scholarships, Ministry of Higher Education Science and Technology

Target group

  • You are a national of Angola.
  • You are an early- or mid- to senior-level career professional working in the public sector, the private sector or a non-government organisation (civil society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • You wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. You cannot study a Masters of Business Administration.
  • You have a clear vision of how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
  • Gender equality: Australia Awards targets equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged, and mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees.
  • Disability inclusion: Australia Awards aims to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunities to compete for and obtain a scholarship.
  • Applications from people with a disability are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.


  • You must not be more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
  • You must have at least three years’ relevant work experience following graduation. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type (public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, etc.). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
  • You possess, as a minimum, a ‘Licenciatura’ or an international Bachelor’s Degree (or equivalent) with at least a Second Class Lower division (2.2) or the equivalent.
  • You must have a minimum English language proficiency equivalent to an overall IELTS score of 5.0 with no band score lower than 4.5 (equivalent TOEFL scores are also accepted).  Those with overall scores of lower than 6.5 who are selected for an award will be supported to undertake between three and nine months pre-course English language training and will need to achieve a score of 6.5 at the end of this training with no band score lower than 6.
  • You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree.
  • You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award.
  • You must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships, Refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy handbook

Support service options

  • Provision of pre-course English on a case-by-case basis
  • Provision of course research support for shortlisted candidates
  • Special needs assistance as deemed appropriate on a case-by-case basis
  • Standard Australia Awards Scholarships support conditions for Awardees. Refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy handbook

Further information

For further information on Australian Government policies, please see the links below.

Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch by emailing .