Australian High Commissioner awards leadership prize to outstanding scholar from Madagascar

The Australian High Commissioner accredited to Comoros, Mauritius, Madagascar and Seychelles, Ms Jenny Dee announced Ms Tahinasoa Rafidiarimahefa from Madagascar, as the winner of the Sandra Vegting Leadership Prize at the recent pre-departure briefing for 2019 Australia Awards scholars. The prize, named after the late Australian High Commissioner (who held office from 2011 – 2014), recognises outstanding female Australia Awards Scholarship recipients.

When handing over the prize, the High Commissioner highlighted the importance of using the award to address gender equality. She said, “supporting women in leadership is important in ensuring equity and sustainable development in countries. I am pleased that Australia is supporting the leadership aspirations of our women professionals in Madagascar, through the Sandra Vegting Leadership Prize.”

At the event, the High Commissioner also congratulated the scholars for receiving scholarships and wished them well in their studies in Australia.

Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch by emailing .