Since 1980, nationals from Tanzania have been sponsored by the Australian Government through the Australia Awards to study in Australia. Applicants from Tanzania are eligible to apply for Masters and Short Course Awards.

Australia Awards Scholarships (Masters level)

Applications are open from 1 September to 15 December 2017

Priority areas are:

  • Agricultural Productivity (including transformation of agriculture for food self-sufficiency and export, development of irrigation, particularly in selected agricultural corridors, and high-value crops, including horticulture, floriculture, spices, vineyards)
  • Extractives (including oil and gas)
  • Public Policy (human capital and skills development, with an emphasis on science, technology and innovation, tourism, trade and financial services)

Applications will also be considered in the following sectors:

  • Disability Studies
  • Gender Studies
  • Health
  • Industrial Development (including industries that use locally produced raw materials such as textiles, fertilizer, cement, coal, iron and steel, as well as using public-private partnerships)
  • Infrastructure (including large investments in energy, transport infrastructure (port, railway, roads, air transport), water and sanitation, and information and communication technology (ICT))

Australia Awards Short Course Awards

Applications are open from 1 September to 15 January 2018

Priority areas are:

Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch by emailing .