Australia Awards – Africa hosts Post-Doctoral pre-departure briefing

The High Commissioner to South Africa, His Excellency Mr Adam McCarthy, hosted a lunch in honour of the recipients of the inaugural Australia Awards Post-Doctoral Research Fellowships.

Other guests at lunch were Professor Bernard Slippers from the University of Pretoria, Wilna Venter from the University of Cape Town, and Daan du Toit from the Department of Science and Technology.

Post-Doctoral Fellowships in Agricultural Productivity, Health and Science and Technology, are funded by the Australian government through Australia Awards. These fellowships support research partnerships between Australian and African universities that are members of the Australia Africa Universities Network (AAUN).

Australia Awards – Africa is a Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)-funded initiative designed to equip Africans with the skills and knowledge necessary to contribute to sustainable economic and social development outcomes in their own countries; and to build long-term, sustainable links with Australia. The program provides a mix of Scholarships and Short Courses that support developmental goals in the areas of Agricultural Productivity, Extractives and Public Policy.

The next round of Post-Doctoral Fellowships will open on 1 September 2017 to 30 November 2017. Applicants must be affiliated to the:
University of Ghana (Ghana)
University of Nairobi (Kenya)
University of Pretoria (South Africa)
University of Cape Town (South Africa)

For more information, go to http://awardslocal.local/post-doctoral-fellowships/

Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch by emailing .