Mozambique 2016 Awardees encouraged to be ambassadors


Mozambican professionals who received Australia Awards Scholarships to study at Masters Level in 2016 were given a pre-departure briefing on 30 September and 1 October 2015. The Australian Deputy High Commissioner, Mr Ben Playle in his address to the Awardees at the briefing held at Hotel Avenida in Maputo, said the Australian government sees the Australia Awards program, not only as an investment personally for the Awardees, but also an investment for Africa’s development. In light of this, he emphasised the importance of the scholarships to the Awardees and that their success in Australia will ultimately lead to their country’s success upon their return home as they apply the skills and knowledge gained in Australia. “Remember that you are travelling to Australia as ambassadors for your country, but also ambassadors for the Australia Awards program. I urge you to make most of this opportunity in Australia and bring home with you fond memories and lasting friendships”.

Dr De Jesus Octavio, the Director General of the Ministry of Education, Institute of Scholarships and Nominating Authority in Mozambique and Ms Esther Tinga, Head of Cooperation and external scholarships and also the Coordinating Authority for the Australia Awards scholarships in Mozambique attended this function. Dr Octavio acknowledged the Awardees as talented individuals and that government had expectations for them to demonstrate this talent in the country after completion of their studies.

As part of the Pre-departure Briefing, an Australia Awards Promotional Workshop was attended by representatives from government, civil society and private sector institutions. The purpose of the workshop was to increase awareness of the Australia Awards program in Mozambique in the agriculture, extractives and public policy sectors. The Australia Awards Alumni Ambassador, Dr Ana Charles together with Australia Awards and DFAT representatives provided critical information about the Awards programme and encouraged organisations to seek out suitable application candidates and strengthen their interaction with Awardees and Alumni.

The Mozambican Awardees soon to commence postgraduate studies at different Australian Universities in 2016 are Ana Muteerwa, Master of International Public Health at the University of Queensland, Paula Machatine Honwana, Master of Laws at The Australian National University,  Andre Machava, Master of Environmental Management and Sustainability (Water Resource Management), University of South Australia and Chenjerai Jairoce, Master of Science in Medicine (Infection and Immunity) at the University of Sydney. (Click here for photo gallery)

Applications are currently open for Scholarships (until 30 November) and Short Courses (until 18 December).

Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch by emailing .