Mozambique 2016 Awardees are encouraged to be ambassadors


Mozambican professionals who received Australia Awards Scholarships to study at Masters level in 2016 were given a pre-departure briefing on 30 September and 1 October 2015. The Australian Deputy High Commissioner, Ben Playle, in his address to the Awardees at the briefing held at the Hotel Avenida in Maputo, said that the Australian Government sees the Australia Awards program not only as an investment in the Awardees, but also as an investment in Africa’s development. In light of this, he emphasised the importance of the Scholarships for the Awardees and that their success in Australia will ultimately lead to their countries’ success upon their return home as they apply the skills and knowledge they gained in Australia. “Remember that you are travelling to Australia not just as ambassadors of your country, but also as ambassadors of the Australia Awards program. I urge you to make the most of this opportunity in Australia and to bring home with you fond memories and lasting friendships”.

Dr De Jesus Octavio, Director-General of the Ministry of Education, Institute of Scholarships and Nominating Authority in Mozambique, and Esther Tinga, Head of Cooperation and External Scholarships and also the Coordinating Authority for the Australia Awards Scholarships in Mozambique, attended this function. Dr Octavio acknowledged the Awardees as talented individuals, and that the government had high expectations of them to demonstrate this talent in the country after completion of their studies.

As part of the pre-departure briefing, representatives of government, civil society and private sector institutions attended an Australia Awards promotional workshop. The purpose of the workshop was to increase awareness of the Australia Awards program in the agriculture, extractives and public policy sectors in Mozambique. The Australia Awards Alumni Ambassador, Dr Ana Charles, together with Australia Awards and DFAT representatives, provided critical information about the Awards programme and encouraged organisations to seek out suitable application candidates and to strengthen their interaction with Awardees and Alumni.

The Mozambican Awardees who are soon to commence their postgraduate studies at different Australian Universities in 2016 are Ana Muteerwa (Masters of International Public Health at the University of Queensland), Paula Machatine Honwana (Masters of Law at the Australian National University), Andre Machava (Masters of Environmental Management and Sustainability: Water Resource Management at the University of South Australia) and Chenjerai Jairoce (Masters of Science in Medicine: Infection and Immunity at the University of Sydney. (Click here for photo gallery)

Applications are currently open for Scholarships (until 30 November) and Short Courses (until 18 December).

Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch by emailing .